International Webinar: A New South Korean President

International Webinar Co-Sponsored by

Women Cross DMZ and Fellowship of Reconciliation

Available to view here on You Tube!

On May 9, millions of South Koreans will cast their ballots and elect their next President of the Republic of Korea (ROK). The front-runner is Moon Jae-in, a human rights lawyer and former Chief of Staff to President Roh Moo-Hyun, the last liberal South Korean president. Moon has pledged to renew dialogue with Pyongyang and has called for re-considering deployment of the US THAAD missile defense system, which has placed Seoul in the middle of tensions between Washington and Beijing.

 

What will a new South Korean administration mean for inter-Korean relations and the US-ROK alliance, particularly in light of heightened tensions between the United States and North Korea? What about China and Japan? What lessons can be gleaned from the last liberal government in South Korea that promoted a sunshine policy with North Korea? What role will and can civil society play in promoting improved relations, including interfaith, humanitarian, and track III diplomacy initiatives? How can peace, nonviolent and faith-based movements in the United States and globally support this new wind of change blowing on the Korean peninsula?

 

Please join an international webinar co-hosted by Women Cross DMZ (WCDMZ) and Fellowship of Reconciliation (FOR) on May 10, 2017 where we will discuss these issues with leading experts from the United States and South Korea:

 

 

Date and Time:

May 10, 2017

8 pm Eastern Standard Time

5 pm Pacific Standard Time

9 am Seoul Standard Time (May 11)

View here now!


Return to full list of events

Women Cross DMZ